Yoga's 8-Step Path to Awakening

20-session Course Learning & Wisdom, Yoga
Yoga's 8-Step Path to Awakening

In this 20-session course, you'll learn:

  • The 8 different limbs of yoga.
  • How to manifest truthfulness, practice non-attachment, create discipline, and find joy in the moment.
  • The four aspects of consciousness: Man (mind), Buddhi (intellect), Ahamkara (ego), and Chitta (pre-conditioned feelings).

About this course

Ever heard of Patanjali? This ancient Indian sage is known as the Father of Modern Yoga, and many of the themes you'll hear in yoga class come from his famed yoga text, The Yoga Sutras, in which he described an eight-fold path to becoming enlightened. In this course, meditation teacher and TEDx speaker Tyagi Shurjo teaches the Yoga Sutras and how to follow them for a more awakened life.

About the teacher

Tyagi Shurjo

Tyagi Shurjo

Since taking his monastic vows at the age of 21, Tyagi Shurjo has committed his life to the goal of self-realization. Shurjo serves in joy to spread the message of Paramhansa Yogananda and kriya yoga wherever he goes.
View Profile

20 Sessions

  1. Course Introduction
    Course Introduction
  2. What Is True Yoga?
    1. What Is True Yoga?
    To understand what yoga really meant to Patanjali, and that the real goal of yoga is to neutralize our biased feelings in order to move toward complete unity with consciousness, and, in our daily lives, to move toward our goals.
    23 mins
  3. 8 Steps to Freedom
    2. 8 Steps to Freedom
    Understand the eight limbs of yoga and use them to move toward your goals—both spiritual and material.
    22 mins
  4. Ahimsa (Non-Violence)
    3. Ahimsa (Non-Violence)
    Ahimsa (non-violence) is a key virtue in yoga that promotes compassion and universal love toward all living things.
    18 mins
  5. Satya (Non-Lying/Truthfulness)
    4. Satya (Non-Lying/Truthfulness)
    In yoga, practicing satya (truthfulness), means living and speaking in a way that aligns with your highest truth.
    17 mins
  6. Asteya (Non-Stealing)
    5. Asteya (Non-Stealing)
    Manifest abundance through understanding Asteya (non-stealing).
    18 mins
  7. Aparigraha (Non-Attachment)
    6. Aparigraha (Non-Attachment)
    Use the fifth yama, Aparigraha (non-attachment), to accept what is and make room for all that's yet to come.
    18 mins
  8. Brahmacharya (Non-Sensuality)
    7. Brahmacharya (Non-Sensuality)
    Tap into your senses and redirect prana (life force energy) toward intentional creativity.
    17 mins
  9. Saucha (Cleanliness/Purity)
    8. Saucha (Cleanliness/Purity)
    Through the second limb of yoga, the Niymamas, start manifesting balance and harmony to allow for more powerful meditations and a satisfied mind.
    18 mins
  10. Santosha (Contentment)
    9. Santosha (Contentment)
    Incorporate contentment into your life, and cultivate joy in this moment.
    15 mins
  11. Tapasya (Austerity)
    10. Tapasya (Austerity)
    Practice discipline to help control your energy and channel it in the direction you choose.
    16 mins
  12. Swadhyaya (Self-Study/Introspection)
    11. Swadhyaya (Self-Study/Introspection)
    Through self-reflection and introspection, you'll learn how to take actionable steps forward to improve your life.
    18 mins
  13. Ishwara Pranidhana (Devotion)
    12. Ishwara Pranidhana (Devotion)
    This practice of devotion and surrender will help you overcome many of life's obstacles.
    15 mins
  14. Asana (Posture and Stillness)
    13. Asana (Posture and Stillness)
    The third limb of yoga, Asana, trains the physical body in order to strengthen the mind.
    17 mins
  15. Pranayama, Part 1: Principles of Energy Control
    14. Pranayama, Part 1: Principles of Energy Control
    You can create and control energy through breath and body movement.
    20 mins
  16. Pranayama, Part 2: Energy, Will & Magnetism
    15. Pranayama, Part 2: Energy, Will & Magnetism
    Breathwork strengthens the connection between body and mind.
    19 mins
  17. Pratyahara (Interiorization of Prana and the Senses)
    16. Pratyahara (Interiorization of Prana and the Senses)
    Expand your understanding of prana (life force energy), and discover how to attract your best life.
    19 mins
  18. Dharana (Concentration)
    17. Dharana (Concentration)
    Dharana is a state of total focus—where the mind can relax into deep meditation.
    19 mins
  19. Dhyana (Meditation and Absorption)
    18. Dhyana (Meditation and Absorption)
    Immerse yourself fully into your meditation.
    18 mins
  20. Samadhi (Complete Unity of Consciousness)
    19. Samadhi (Complete Unity of Consciousness)
    True spiritual enlightenment, Samadhi, is the highest state of consciousness achieved through meditation.
    21 mins
  21. Putting It All Together
    20. Putting It All Together
    Live your practice for more peace daily.
    33 mins